Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2004-03-12 - 5:24 a.m.

Blessed in Drawing, Cursed in Friendship. Maybe.

Han Solo, eat you heart out!You know, it's that time of... day that I must give the world just a bit of my budding genius.

Okay, I'm lying. That time of the hour.

No, seriously, I completely forgot to say anything about my awesome drawing ability, so, to make my three readers either shudder in jealousy or joy for me, I'm going to be talking about drawing. My drawing. 'Cause I'm the shit.

Back in middle school, some girl told me that maybe I should get into fashion design. I sure as hell don't know why, because I couldn't even draw stick figures then. (Still can't to be truthful.) But that kind stayed in the back of mind.

I blame nationalism and pride.Especially since some people in high school thought the same thing. I of course, thought all these people are crazy. Except for that one-semester-a-year art class everyone took in my middle school, I never had formal lessons. (And I don't think that that one Life Drawing class in college counts all that much.)

But that thought has been in the back of my mind back then, and if Temple had fashion design classes somewhere in its various campuses, I would have signed my ass up for them. But, they didn't, and that thought of myself as a fashion designer just stayed in the back of my mind where it belonged.

As subtle as a brick to the face?  It still needs work, and better lighting, though.But now, Andrea, my housemate, has, as of late, brought this thought back to my attention. She herself dabbles in paint on her free time, since her main career both here and back home (Australia) had been teaching English as a foreign language, and as soon as she saw my aspiring pencil sketches and drawings, says that I should go into fashion design.

Which, of course, got me to thinking of enrolling into the Art Institute back home as soon as I get back to the States, thereby transforming into one of the few things I probably can't be in my advanced age: A Starving Art Student.

(I say 'advanced age' as if I'm much older than my 23 years, but art students are supposed to be fresh out of high school, full of ridiculous ideas and horrible fashion sense to rebel from their working class (or higher) parents, not in their mid-20's or older, as I will be when I return. But that's a stereotype for you.)

Bad lighting again? Damn it!(Oh, how I will detest being labelled an 'art student'.)

And, of course, Cindy, who I absolutely dislike, and I constantly pray that she'll return my cd and move the hell out of the house already, suggested the same thing, and even went so far to say I should strive at making a manga, something Andrea says at well.

So, I guess, one of these days, I'm going to have enough money, and a decent, working grasp of Japanese, to go to a manga school, or a fashion design school, here. This is what I want to do. I want to made it somehow in the country, in that way or another.

I want to be able to open a boutique in the narrow Harajuku alley known for having what's hip and great in Japanese youth culture. Hell, just a decent shop somewhere in the city, that is able to make enough to pay for the land.

(Andrea suggested I married a Japanese man just so that I used his citizenship to get myself that place, or even use the first floor of the house we will have for that pursuit. And here, Heero is sporting the height of bad Japanese taste.  Yes, that's Heero.Did you know only native-born Japanese can own land? And be head of the household officially? I have a horror story about this, but not right now...)

I want to be mildly successful as a manga writer, with a small following and a tiny staff of two or three to help me.

I just want to be able to earn enough to live on this. I just want to find more happiness here than I already have. A little success is all I need right now. In the future, I can hope for Milan or a OVA, but for now...

Got to prepare.

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...