Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2004-08-08 - 2:08 p.m.

Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...

If I really, I mean really, sit down and try, without distractions and with plenty of time and supplies, I think I can make something very interesting. Something worth seeing and reading, and paying some hard-earned cash for, too.

Over a year ago, before I went to Japan for work, before I had a purpose in life, I thought to myself, "You know, I should get into the comic book industry."

Mind you, I know for a fact that I am not the only 20-something-year-old that thought this at one point in their life. Hell, even the disclaimer that I am, in fact, female doesn't negate that statement at all. Every little nerdy, comic-book kid has thought to themselves at one point that he would love to be a comic book artist. Hell, Japan, with it three billion dollars-a-year comic book industry, is full of little aspiring artists, trying to make a name for themselves and earn their stripes, and their fans. (I should know. I've taught quite a few of them...)

I, too, want that dream. Both in Japan and in the US, I wanted to make a name for myself in the comic book industry, one way or another. While here, in the US, I began to research and plan on publishing my own. (I would tell you the details, but I'm afraid that Viz comics would take it from me and make the money I should have gotten first... and that's not even thinking of every other enterprising fangirl out there.)

In Japan, I thought, more than once on finally working and finishing on a comic, a mere 24-pager or something, to enter publishing contests with. But, while my mastery of comic book drawing is still pretty much in the distance still, my mastery of the Japanese language is still faulty in lots of places.

So, while I cut out and hang up entry forms for all the contests I want to enter in Japan, while I read up on self-publishing magazines and comics in the US, I wonder if I would ever be able to make it in that industry.

But, hey, it's just a purpose in life. Something to strive for. Nothing in particular...

...crossposted at Livejournal...

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...