Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2003-12-22 - 2:47 p.m.

Que Triste Navidad...

You know what's great about Christmas Latin music. They have their priorities straight. Defintely.

I wouldn't mind singing half of those songs out loud. It isn't like I haven't sung songs like those when I was little. But, of course, because you probably can't read Spanish, let me do some translating.

Track 1: Christmas Storm (most likely about a freak hurricane in December, but that isn't the good stuff.)

Track 2: Rum. (Yeah.)

Track 3: To Drink the Whole World

Track 4: I want Rum.

Track 5: This Christmas (This is either about a broken heart, or, more likely, food and drinking. Follow the pattern.)

Track 6: Christmas, Christmas (Actually, this one is about either broken hearts or family. That's all Raulin sings anyway.)

Track 7: Weekend (Kind of self-explanitory. Any song with that title is Definitely about getting drunk. This group also sang the 'I want Rum' song earlier.)

Track 8: Chercha (Oh, how my Spanish has failed you), Party, and Beach (party-with-drinking-and-food-and-music song)

Track 9: Partying (Jossie Esteban is my favorite merenguero of all Fucking Time, and I know for a Fact this song is about getting drunk and eating good food. In that order.)

Track 10: If you don't give me something to drink. (This is actually a tradition song, like Jingle Bells in the US. Yes, it's about alcohol, too.)

Track 11: There's Great Joy (Party with food and drinks. Duh?)

Track 12: Drunk. (The ultimate conclusion.)


You know, it was only friday that I realized that Chirstmas was this week. I was kind of a surprise, you know. And now it's only, what, 3 days away?

Wow.

As far as I'm concerned, I've been listening to the American radio station and J-wave almost fanatically, hoping that I will listen to some Christmas songs.

They aren't the ones that I want to listen to, like, say, the drunken merengues up there, or even better, the depressing bachatas, with titles such as 'What a Sad Christmas', 'Christmas without You', 'Bitter Christmas', and the like that makes the heart-broken, teary genre proud.

I've had some disappointing moments though. Just a couple. The worse being the almost-listening of the song 'The Christmas Shoes'.

This song is only a year old (a year only?! you're kidding?!) but I really do not like it. (Yes, I am a heartless, cold, bitter woman. That's why I like sappy, tear-drenched bachata so much).

Don't worry, I feel bad enough that the song is based on a true story some DJ told the band that plays it. And then they make the song and the same DJ plays it on the air. And that there's a novella and a made-for-goddamn-TV movie about it too. But that does not matter. I just don't like the song.

Maybe there is something wrong with me.

Well, there you have a nice dark secret of mine. I hate that song. Maybe I'd like the TV movie better.

Now bring out 'The Gift of The Magi'! That's Christmas depression I can stand.


I wonder if I should delete that last part...

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...