Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2003-10-14 - 6:01 a.m.

The Last Few Days 2: The Date, First Part

So, the date. This will be a very long entry, since I probably have a lot to get out. Blow by blow.

So, some time ago, two weeks ago or something, I responded to a classifieds ad. And, on Thursday, we play email tag, him sending me responds and questions, which I fielded rather well.

Perhaps too well.

Pretty quickly, about the third or forth batch of responses, he kept insisting that I was 'really Cute' and a 'warm-hearted person'. He liked me 'a lot'. Too quickly, for my tastes. His emails became these ovely sugary things were he just kept saying that he thought that I was really cute and really nice.

I don't mind being called that, well, not a whole lot anyway, but I would rather just chat with a guy, find out about him, than constantly hear that I'm cute. I'm not a big fan of such unadulterated flattery.

He asked me if I would like to go on a date with him the next day. I said 'sure' before I actually thought about it.

I figured, hey. Date. Time to get to know each other in person. No big deal. Hope he likes me.

But then I think of the slight desperation his emails had, how he kept saying over and over that I was cute. And how ecstatic his email read when I said ok.

I talked to him on the phone that night, half-thinking, he's probably a decent guy. From the emails, I found out that he likes video games, pro wrestling, and American music. It's an okay combo. I'm friends with a lot of guys that likes those things back home.

Friends.

When we were talking, the word 'mouth-breather' crossed my mind a whole lot of times. You know, extremely nerdy fucking mouth breather. A guy I don't want to touch, much less date.

Why that word? Just by how he sounded on the phone. But then I reason with myself, hey, it's a cell phone. It always sounds worse on a cell phone. AND his English isn't that great sounding anyway. What, with the constant hesitations and apologies about it. Maybe he's not a mouth breather.

He likes Our Lady Peace.

Anyway, when I hanged up with him and ate the dinner I didn't get to start because of his call, I couldn't get out of my head the thought that he was a slobbering, fat, Japanese fanboy mouthbreather.

Ew.

I went to bed, thinking about a way to avoid the date on Sunday. (He wanted to meet me Saturday, but I said I was busy.) Maybe, I thought, I could wait for him in a crowded place at the train station we were going to meet at, and, if I don't like what I see, when he asks for my name, I'll just say I'm not who I am.

Good plan, no? Be cool, and act like I'm waiting for someone else?

But he did promise movie and karaoke during the phone call. And I always liked karaoke.

So, on Sat., I did my hair, still nervous about meeting a mouthbreather the next day.

On Sunday, I got up at around 6.30 in the morning. He wanted to meet me at 10 am in Tokyo, so that meant I had to get out of the house at 7.30 to catch a train at 8 to get there in time.

I got there with 10 minutes to spare. I, stupidly?, waited for him at the small, extremely uncrowded north exit. He got there at 11am.

Yay for me.

It was a bit of a shock, someone walking up to me while I'm reading the volume of Peach Girl that I bought the night before. He kind of came out of nowhere, his hair wet-looking (it stayed wet the whole time. Maybe it was greasy?). He seems to be trying to grow a beard (or maybe he doesn't like shaving), because his face was covered in a spotty, long fuzz. No glasses, about my height, guessing around 160-180 pounds.

At first glance, everything was okay, except for his lips, which looked so chapped, they looked like they were sunburned a while back. Peeling and everything. My thought: I am so not kissing those lips.

He was friendly enough.

I didn't have breakfast, and he asked if I was hungry, so we went to a McDonalds. He paid. Tried to talk to me, but he was afraid of his English/nervous and I'm not very good at talking with people I just met.

Maybe I should go on a group date or something next time. I kept thinking, I would do a lot better with a larger group of people than just me and him.

After lunch, and much walking and backtracking since the poor boy didn't know the area very well, we went to a theater.

side note: At the theater, they were giving out Lord of the Rings cell phone straps with any pre-bought tickets. I wanted to buy a couple, a Arwen one for Lisa and a Gollum one for Pams, but I can't just buy them. No money either. Those two and the Frodo one are the only types left... They also had a big poster for Kill Bill, but that hasn't come out yet....

The movie I wanted to see, Johnny English, didn't start for almost three hours, we wandered around a bit, going to the HMV across the street, before going to karaoke for a couple of hours.

Bought a R.Kelly cd. Why in God's name does he call himself the 'Piped Piper'? Perv.

Now, about Karaoke. You know it, and I know it, as a great pasttime, something extremely fun to do with friends while getting pretty damn drunk. Unfortunately, I don't think that Satochi, the guy, had this in mind.

He was too damn happy when I said ok to karaoke to be thinking that.

I thought, hey, we act silly, singing bad songs, and have some fun getting to know each other. He must have been thinking, hey, a small, private place to make out.

This, my friends, is were everything goes downhill for the day. Hence, on to Part 3.

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...