Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2003-05-31 - 4:18 p.m.

Summer is here...

Yesterday, as I was leaving the house to go to work, I stepped out of the cool and dark and right into the muggy and sunny, thinking, "Wow, it's summer now."

Don't look at me like I'm some sort of idiot. I have a couple of very good excuses for why I got caught off-guard.

Well, first of all, it hasn't even started yet. It starts on June 21st, no?

Second, well, this excuse makes even sense, so bear with me. Truth be told, I didn't have a 'summer' last year.

Would you stop staring at me like that? Think of what marks the start of summer for you: the last weeks of school, a Will Smith movie on Memorial Day, that kid with the Super Soaker on the day you decided to wear a white shirt.

For me, these past few years, summers were marked by a break from school, anxiety over losing what little Japanese I know, and the turning on of air conditioners at work.

Last year was different. A week or two after spring semester finals, I was ona plane over Alaska as I counted off the hours before I saw anything of Japan. I had no difinitive break from school because I had classes there. I didn't feel (or smell) the cool of the air conditioners at work because I was there. Anxiety over Japanese was altered, and so on.

So, this year, as summer rolled in, I was thinking of Japan, and how I want to go back, because that is what I remember of last summer. And, because I was thinking of last summer, part of me expecting this summer to start the same way (as a matter of repetition, no doubt), when summer does arrive, it was rather surprising.

That, of course, isn't the best explained reason why I'm still in awe at the fact that summer is here now, but it's all I can offer. Till later.

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...