Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2003-03-19 - 7:21 p.m.

My Brother's Flag

Guess I couldn't resist writing another entry for today. Maybe it'll make up for my lack of entries these past few weeks or something.

Like anyone else would notice this early in the game.

My mother, who loves those seasonal flags you can see almost everywhere, hanging in front of someone's house, hanged a new one out there today.

Over the weekend, she had wanted to go shopping for a pretty spring one, but she never got around to doing it.

Today, because of all the change in the political and world-wide air, she took my brother's flag and hanged it up.

My brother, Juan, is in the U.S. Marine Corps. That's right, he's a jarhead. A leatherneck. An idiot, but that has always been my nickname for him since we were little.

In either case, he's an air traffic controller for the Corps, and currently, he and another person are the only two a.t.c's left at their base in North Carolina.

Another friend of his had been shipped out over the weekend, and his roommate is leaving for Iraq tomorrow.

And my mother, the great supporter of her children that she is (no sarcasm intended at all), hanged his USMC flag by our door, all the while wondering if someone around here would have the nerve to steal it.

It is, of course, something we can easily replace. It is, of course, my brother's to begin with, and although we had his permission, I know that I would get upset if someone stole something of mine.

I guess what I wanted to say, even if took forever to get to this point, is that I don't want my brother to go out there.

The last Gulf War, my family was worried that his godfather, a reserve for the Marines, was going to be sent. Now, it's my brother, an active, young member of the Corps, that worries me.

I don't like the idea of this war. I don't support the war in and of itself. For the sake of my family, I prayed that it wouldn't come to it.

But I can say that I support the troops, because that's all I can do.

My brother joined the Corps right after high school, a good year before the world that we knew under Clinton was destroyed.

I just hope all of this ends quickly.

Sorry about all that. You can all go home now.

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...