Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2004-01-07 - 1:54 p.m.

Brief History of CDs

I've been buying a lot of cd's recently, a dangerous habit to have in this country, where they can range from a honest 17 dollars (about) to an arrogant $32.

But, at least I can say it's not because I'm depressed in some way, shape, or form. (I think). Last summer, I bought ungodly anime for the sole purpose of self-medication.

I think I should have went with the alcohol, but no, I had to stifle my bitter depression with shopping.

No, this is because, well, let me see.

I bought three cds in the beginning of December because of homesickness. 'Bachatahits 2003', 'Merenguehits 2003', and 'Salsahits 2004'. I really, really needed to hear some familiar music that just wasn't being played out here at all, and that costed me about $90, tax included.


Monday after Christmas, I bought two cds: 'TLC: Now and Forever the Hits' and Gackt's 'Crescent'. I bought the TLC one because it's TLC. I love TLC. They're super. Merely 14 bucks.

But Gackt is a different story. I would put a picture here, but I couldn't find one feminine enough.

Before going solo, he was a part of some visual kei band (Malice Mizer), and makes oodles of money by looking pretty and acting rather gay-ish in concert. The pics in his lyrics book are dark, with guns and blood, and completely visual kei, but I have yet to see such a pretty, pretty man.

And it doesn't help that his 'best friend' is Hyde, some equally fruity rocker who was his costar in a movie ('Moon Child') created just to show them off. It doesn't help that he is arrogant enough to not include a lyrics book in the album before this one just because he didn't feel like it. It's doesn't help that the price for 'Crescent' was 3000 yen.

And it really doesn't help that there are whole hordes of J-pop fans in the US that Really Really believe that this really pretty man (or, rather, the band he was in before going solo) is the end all and be all of J-pop. He's a second-tier artist at best, with a cult following. Hell, considering all the celebrities in this little country, that isn't that bad.

And he's really pretty. His makeup is superb.

So why did I buy the album, in spite of all my bellyaching? He's a pretty, pretty man.

Oh, and I still haven't hear one second off the album. I'm afraid it's horrible.


Yesterday, I bought two more cds, just because I've wanted these two for a while now. Someone told me they were good.

Fannypack's 'So Stylistic' and Junior Senior's... well, I forget.

Okay, Fannypack is that group that sang that 'Cameltoe' song from last summer. The album is so drenched in old school hip-hop it was marvelous. Great.

Junior Senior did that 'Don't stop your Feet' song... from last summer too. This album was great too. Favorite song: Chicks and Dicks *blush*. What can I say. It's really funny...

Both of those were about $22. Imports at Tower.


Edit* The Junior Senior song is "Move Your Feet"... And I like "Shake Your Coconuts" too. And "Shake Me Baby". And "White Trash"...

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...