Bruta=Idiot

Navigation
Dairyland
Send a Letter
Pass a Note
Sign a Book
Read a Profile
Recommend a Girl
Whatever
Read the Past
Return to Now
The LiveJournal One

Exploitation
Godawful Fanfiction
Godawful Fanart
The Side Scroll Life
My Amazon Wish List

Association
Amanda
Pam

Visitation
Ecchi Attack
Fark
SomethingAwful

Irritation

... New Year's Eve's Snow
... Rain on Saturday
... Average Post about Purpose (and Comics)...
... Things that I miss... A work in progress...
... Cultural Communication

2003-09-17 - 5:15 p.m.

Strangely Flirtatious, Really

This will be a bit long, so please bear.

So, to start, I have seen two auto accidents in as many days, and I've begun praying it doesn't happen to me. Why? Well, call me supperstitious, but if the first was that of a car that climbed up on 2,3-inch high barrier between the street and the curb and was pretty much resting on it, and the other was of the front of a small SUV smashed in by a utility pole with its owner sobbing and waiting for the cops to show up, than maybe, just maybe, you'd be praying too.

Especially if you're driving on the 'wrong' side of the road.

Also, I have been to Tokyo twice this week already, and I'm not sure whether it's good news or bad.

It was a long weekend, the one that past, because Monday was a national holiday (Respect for the Eldery, I think). The housemates and I spent the long holiday nights playing Mahjong.

On Sunday, because I was very very broke, I got dressed and headed to Tokyo to draw out money.

I got dressed, however, to get attention. Sort of. Draw attention to the chest... Have the hair cute and curly and partly under a scarf...

And, let me tell you, despite the fact that my feet were in horribly painful, but pretty good-looking boots, and the two-hour trip it takes to get there in the first place, I drew some damn attention.

But not from Japanese guys, or, at least, not that I know of. Despite my best efforts, I'm rather oblivious. No, my first admirers were three guys from Nepal.

Oh, I'm pretty sure they thought I was Indian, or something simillar. I've been getting that a lot.

Because all four of us were heading to Shibuya (it's the closest place where I can withdraw money from my American bank account with my American check card) they invited me to lunch.

Me. To lunch. Of course I said yes.

It was Indian food, an all-you-can-eat lunch buffet for 1000 yen. Not that bad.

My one fault was that I didn't talk very much during the lunch, but I felt kind of awkward talking to them because they kept speaking in a language I didn't know.

Got a number though. And three people I can hang with on weekends if I wanted.

After lunch, I hanged by myself: bought a comic book and another copy of the third Harry Potter book (in Brit English, man that's confusing), two things I shouldn't have bought to begin with. I played some video games, yet another thing I shouldn't have done. And, after spending some cash in simplistic pleasures and unable to take the pain my feet are in anymore, I started home...

... only to be partly-propositioned on the way to the station.

The guy I've seen before, on the way to the bank. He said hi, and since I was in that strange, flirt-with-me mood I went to Tokyo to flaunt, with my boobs and stuff, I did the most unusual thing: I said 'hi' back.

He works at one of the clothes shops there, passing out flyers. When he saw me, he smiled.

Flirtatious-for-the-day me, I smiled back.

'Where are you from? Where do you live? What are you doing now? What are you doing tonight? I feel like I want to get to know you.'

I answered his questions, but I told him that, next time, I'll look him, since I knew where he worked at. I didn't have the heart to tell him my feet were in horrible masochistic pain.

Ooh, but I almost got a, uh, 'friend' for the night, if I had didn't have such painful shoes on.

On second thought, even if I did have my sneakers on, I would have said no. I've never been a big fan of, uh, casual sex.

Especially since the comic book I bought, the story has started to center on the fact that couple could be infected with AIDS. Not a good thought.

Oh yeah! Today, on my second trip to Tokyo, I finally got the sticker in my passport that says that I can stay in Japan, working, for one whole year.

Yes, I am now a legal, registered, full-timing, alien English teacher that's really a Latina from America, but keeps getting confused for some sort of southeast Asian.

The Past - Guestbook - The Future, Too

Copyrighted 2003, 2004, 2005 Ileana Aponte... like anyone would want to steal this...